Spread the love

With 100 days until the 2019 World Cup gets underway, might it be the year that England lift the global game’s premier limited-overs trophy at long last? England — the pioneers of one-day cricket as a professional sport — have taken part in every World Cup since staging the inaugural men’s event in 1975.

In any case, all they need to appear for their endeavors are sprinters up awards from the 1979, 1987 and 1992 finals.

Test cricket has long been the priority for everyone in English cricket, be they players, fans or administrators.

That changed, in any case, after a different universe Cup bunch organize exit at the 2015 version in Australia and New Zealand was fixed with a woeful misfortune to Bangladesh. At that point England and Wales Cricket Board supremo Andrew Strauss declared that white-ball cricket would never again be the “poor connection”, with the previous England skipper sacking head mentor Peter Moores and getting Australian Trevor Bayliss explicitly to turn round the group’s restricted overs structure.


The change has been striking with a recently freed England twice setting new records for the most astounding ODI aggregates – their 444 for three against Pakistan at Trent Bridge in 2016 a prelude to a year ago’s gigantic 481 for six at a similar ground.

England, captained in 50-over cricket by former Ireland batsman Eoin Morgan, with the side featuring Test skipper Joe Root and the hard-hitting talents of Jason Roy, Alex Hales and Jos Buttler, now sit atop the ODI world rankings heading into their upcoming five-match series away to the West Indies.

‘Now is the time’

“We can say we were the best ODI side to play for England… be that as it may, without a trophy, it will be hard to state that,” said all-rounder Moeen Ali, hoping to enable England’s men to win only their second major worldwide occasion following the 2010 World Twenty20 in the Caribbean.

“We have come close and we feel now is the time.”

“We don’t feel we need to win it, it’s more ‘this is an ideal opportunity to win it’. We are an astounding side however we realize this year is monstrous for us,” included Moeen, with England, similar to the case in 1975, playing host to a World Cup and an Ashes arrangement in a similar season.

In any case, dissimilar to that initial eight-group release 43 years back, which highlighted two then non-Test sides in East Africa and the since a long time ago raised Sri Lanka, the current year’s occasion will be a 10-group issue challenged exclusively by Test countries.

Ever since India and Pakistan were both knocked out in the group stage of the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies, thereby putting a huge dent in broadcast audiences, attendance figures and commercial revenues for the rest of the tournament, International Cricket Council chiefs have been determined no such ‘nightmare scenario’ will ever befall both Asian giants again.

Ferhaan Berhardien sweeps during the 1st T20 International match between South Africa and India held at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa on the 18th February 2018 Photo by: Ron Gaunt / BCCI / SPORTZ

The result has been a decrease in the number of non-Test nations involved to the point none will take part this year.

That has seen the ICC criticised for making the World Cup too narrow at a time when other sports are expanding rather than cutting the number of teams involve in their global showpiece events.

But ICC officials point to the creation of a qualifying tournament — from which two-time champions West Indies only narrowly emerged — as proof the non-Test world still has a shot at the World Cup.

Rather than have pool stages this year, the ICC have opted for an all-play-all group format — a move that many believe has more to do with ensuring India, cricket’s financial powerhouse, are guaranteed a minimum of nine matches than sporting fairness for all the teams taking part.

Such an extensive gathering stage in front of the semi-finals reduces the odds of any group experiencing to the July 14 last at Lord’s unbeaten.

Ruling bosses Australia, set to be helped by the arrival of star batsmen Steve Smith and David Warner following their extensive ball-altering bans, will offer for a 6th title.

India, with Virat Kohli in charge, are a noteworthy power in all organizations while Pakistan resisted desires to win the 2017 Champions Trophy in England.

New Zealand will be quick to go one better subsequent to losing in 2015 last, while South Africa will arrive planning to end long periods of World Cup grievousness.

West Indies, the 1975 and 1979 bosses, will have an additional impetus this year after Sunday’s declaration that star batsman Chris Gayle will resign from ODIs following the current year’s World Cup.

Leave a Comment